Andy Rogers inaugurated as BIR President

26 September 2016

Andy Rogers has been inaugurated as the new President of the BIR. At a reception attended by around 100 members and supporters as well as representatives from other professional bodies, Dr David Wilson handed over the chain of office to Andy Rogers.

In a moving speech, Dr Wilson spoke of the achievements of the past two years which included an increase in membership of 46%, a wealth of new corporate members, live and on-demand webinars, a new journalBJR|case reportsand exciting collaborations with overseas organisations and Parliament. Dr Wilson was presented with a photobook of his term of office and a gift from trustees and staff.

Andy Rogers said, “It has been a great privilege to work alongside David during his Presidency and I am honoured to be taking over the role of BIR President from him. During my two year tenure I shall be focussing on increasing our membership base and getting more members actively involved in the great work we do, as well as reaching out to our sister organisations to enhance the collaboration between all organisations representing imaging, radiation oncology and the associated sciences.”

Jacqueline Fowler, CEO of the BIR, thanked Dr Wilson for his leadership and guidance over the last two years. “It is traditional that we alternate clinicians and scientists in the role of President and we are delighted that Andy Rogers, a renowned UK physicist, will be leading us through the next stage of growth for the BIR.”

DW AR handshake       AR speech




Networking 1   Networking 2


Networking 3   Networking 4

BIR sister societies

Images top to bottom

First row: Dr David Wilson (left) with Andy Rogers, Andy Rogers acceptance speech

Second row: Andy Rogers, President BIR with Jacqueline Fowler, CEO BIR

Third row: Left to right, Andrew Hall, CEO RCR, Dr Nicola Strickland, President RCR, Andy Rogers and Jacqueline Fowler

Fourth row: Networking

Fifth row: David Brettle, President IPEM, Rosesmary Cook, CEO IPEM, Andy Rogers and Jacqueline Fowler

Sixth row: Networking

Last row: Dr Nicola Strickland, Andy Rogers, David Brettle and Steve Herring, President SCoR.



British Institute of Radiology - Cookie Disclaimer

The British Institute of Radiology website uses cookies to provide you with essential online features. If you continue to use our site without changing your browser settings, we'll assume you are happy to receive cookies. Please read our Cookie policy for more information.